I’m looking for someone to live in my detached garage apartment. So, this is a guest house sort of thing. Same property, but separate living spaces.

I'll be giving the same considerations to the apartment as I would to someone living in the house with me. Compatibility and trust will be required.

tl;dr version: Central NW OKC, near Plaza district and OCU. $1,100/mo with covered parking, in-unit w/d, all appliances. Water/sewer, gas, electricity included.

ME

I’m a 38-year-old queer guy. I live alone, though my brother is long-term crashing with me at the moment. No animals; no kids. My day job is standard office hours, but I’m often working on other things after that. 

YOU

Ideal person/people — I’ll just start saying tenant — must be reasonably tidy, thoughtful about noise, cleanliness, trash/litter and care of the apartment. No smoking or vaping inside apartment or garage.  

Tenant(s) could be an individual or couple. My definition of couple includes relationships of more than two people, but there are practical limits of the apartment size you’d want to consider. 

SPACE

You get your own complete apartment, detached from my house and one covered, dedicated parking spot with direct, covered access to the apartment. There’s space for at least one other car off street, but it’s not covered. 

Apartment is a 579 square-foot, upstairs, one bedroom with full bath and kitchen. Staircase is inside. Storage space available. 

Entire garage/apartment building is new construction. Central HVAC provides heat and air conditioning. 

STUFF

Gas range, microwave, refrigerator, disposal and dishwasher in kitchen. 

In-unit washer and dryer. 

BILLS

Electrical, natural gas and water included in rent. Tenant(s) responsible for their own cable TV/ internet package and bill. Any new physical connection/hookup must be approved. Excessive bill overages may incur a fee relative to the overage.  

Lawn care and landscaping are my responsibility and included unless you just want to help me garden. 

Tenant should carry rental insurance.

CONSIDERATIONS

You’ll probably be able to hear some noise from the garage door and car noise when I take off or return. 

Unless we decide to hang out much or share meals, we shouldn’t be in each other’s way. 

Strong preference for no pets or kids, but I would evaluate on a case-by-case basis. Definitely no party animals, haha. 

There will be a lease to set clear expectations and protect us both. Rent due date can be customized. 

RENT

$1,100/month. Deposit is $500. 

NOTES

Some work is finishing up, as you can see in the photos. There are future plans for new fencing, gate and patio improvements that will be available for the tenant to share. 

We’ll just have to see what move-in date would work with construction punch-list items being completed.